Our main role as governors of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School is to work with the Head to set the strategic direction and guiding principles of the school. We are also responsible for:

  • Ensuring the quality of the educational provision
  • Challenging and monitoring the performance of the school
  • Ensuring the effective management of the resources, finances, property and employees of the school

As a Governing Body we work at a strategic rather than operational level and discharge our responsibilities through the Head and his Senior Leadership Team (SLT).

Please click here to view the scheme of delegation.

We also provide specialist skills, e.g. financial, legal, project management, Human Resources, to help the Head and his senior team develop the school and to provide support to the teachers and staff.

As Governors, we put the education and welfare of the pupils at the heart of everything we do. We monitor the work, standards and performance of the school and provide a link with parents and our local community. We work together as a group and offer our time and effort on a purely voluntary basis because we are proud to be associated with an outstanding school and are dedicated to its continuing excellence.

Please direct any enquiries to clerktogovs@challoners.org

The Full Governing Body

Members of the governing body are all local people with a strong interest in the school. Over half the governors are current or former DCGS parents.

The term of office of all Governors is four years excepting:

  • The Headteacher
  • Staff Governors if they cease to be employed by the School

In general Governors are replaced as and when they reach the end of their four year term (shown in brackets). Subject to remaining eligible to be a particular type of Governor, any Governor may be re-appointed or re-elected.

  • Chair: Mr Shaun Kennedy - Appointed (18 November 2023)
  • Vice Chair: Dr Mark Pegg - Co-opted (22 February 2025)
  • Mr David Atkinson – Headteacher (ex officio)

  • Ms Uschi Baumann - Parent (6 September 2025).
  • Mr Gareth Cadman - Co-opted (13 January 2026)
  • Mrs Alyson Coates - Co-opted (20 June 2026)
  • Mrs Del Cooke - Co-opted (20 June 2026)
  • Mrs Isobel Darby - Co-opted (8 June 2024)
  • Mr George Davies-Craine - Appointed (20 September 2022)
  • Mrs Alison Davis - Appointed (22 February 2025)
  • Dr Baljinder Dhanda - Co-opted (20 December 2025)
  • Mr Leon Glenister - Appointed (31 October 2023)
  • Mrs Stephanie Hyde - Appointed (27 February 2024)
  • Dr Emma Judge - Appointed (28 February 2026)
  • Dr David Mackintosh - Co-opted (20 September 2022)
  • Mrs Katy Munn - Parent (3 November 2024)
  • Mr Stephen Nokes - Appointed (3 November 2024)
  • Mr Jonathan Pearson - Co-opted (28 February 2024)
  • Mr Paul Serkis - Appointed (26 April 2025)
  • Mr Tom Shinner - Appointed (3 November 2024)
  • Student observers - William Stubbs, Sienna Gianneri, Eleanor Morphey
  • Clerk to the Governors - Mrs Caroline Cobb

A list of governors who have completed their term in the current academic year are:

  • Mr Giri Fox - Resigned (1 September 2021)

The Members of the Academy Trust:

  • Mrs Carole Bevins
  • Mrs Stephanie Horrocks
  • Mrs Stephanie Hyde - Chair of Finance, Audit and Risk Committee
  • Mr Shaun Kennedy
  • Mr Matthew Lawrence - Former DCGS Governor
  • Dr John Maynard
  • Dr Mark Pegg

Governors are appointed to the Governing Body via a number of different means:

Appointed Governors are appointed by the Members of the Dr Challoner’s Grammar School Academy Trust.

Co-opted Governors are appointed by the governing body of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Parent Governors are elected by ballot of the parent body of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Staff Governors are elected by the staff of Dr Challoner’s Grammar School.

Student Observers, normally the School Captain and his two deputies, are invited by the governing body to attend Full Governing Body and sub-committee meetings in a non-voting capacity.

Whatever their means of appointment, all governors have an equal voice and do not represent any particular group.

Governors' Committees

Much of the regular business of the school is considered by governors in specialist committees which take reports, analyse information, discuss the issues in detail and provide advice to the Headteacher and his staff. They meet each term and report back to Full Governing Body meetings with actions and recommendations.

Historic attendance of Governors at Governing Body meetings can be seen here.

Committee and responsibility grid


  • David Atkinson
  • Leon Glenister (Chair)
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • Stephen Nokes
  • Mark Pegg

Learning and Teaching

  • Mark Pegg
  • David Atkinson
  • Gareth Cadman
  • Del Cooke
  • Emma Judge (Chair)
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • Leon Glenister

Finance, Risk and Audit Committee

  • David Atkinson
  • Baljinder Dhanda
  • Stephanie Hyde (Chair)
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • David Mackintosh
  • Jonathan Pearson

Property and Services

  • David Atkinson
  • Uschi Baumann
  • Isobel Darby
  • Alison Davis (Chair)
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • Katy Munn
  • Paul Serkis

Astra (SCITT and Teacher Training)

  • David Atkinson
  • Alyson Coates
  • George Davies
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • David Mackintosh (Chair)
  • Mark Pegg
  • Tom Shinner


  • David Atkinson
  • Leon Glenister (Chair)
  • Shaun Kennedy
  • Mark Pegg
  • Stephen Nokes


Membership: Chair and Vice Chair of Governors, Chairs of other committees and the Senior Leadership Team.